Feb. 11, 2013/ Let’s Get Real

img_5756

Dear Family and Friends,

Thanks for all your support of our friend, Thomas. A substantial amount came in to help him, and he was so blessed by it!

This week has not been nearly as exciting as previous weeks, but God is teaching Ladd and me both so much. Maybe it took having a slow week to see the ways that God is trying to remodel areas of our hearts, from relying on his strength to trusting him with the future.

For myself, it has been an emotional week, feeling attacked with worry and stress about the future and what it looks like, where we will live, when we will have kids, as well as struggling with missing home and friends and family. At this point, God has revealed nothing that far in advance about the direction of our lives, and there is no reason to be worried. He has been intimately teaching me to live in the day that he has given me and trust him with what the future holds. This is one of the hardest things I have ever had to do. Just when I thought I had let go of everything, God reveals more that I need to surrender! The best part about this season however, even though it is hard and painful, is that I have become more aware of the friendship of Jesus more than ever before. It is true that he is “near to the broken hearted and the crushed in spirit.” It is one of those seasons when every verse, every book, every random thing that someone says to me, every dream and every vision is God given and inspired. When I get stressed out and frustrated and anxious, the Holy Spirit keeps reminding me of his truth. That he loves me. That he has a plan for my life. That he knows “the best pathway for my life and he will advise and guide me.” That I am exactly where he intended for me to be right now. That he cares about the desires of my heart. That he is trustworthy. He is my hope. He is my joy. He is my peace.

So just in case anyone thought that being a missionary means that we are total rockstars that never struggle, never sin, and never grow weary, I regret to inform you that that is not the case. However, we love to remind you, as we fight together for the Kingdom, that we serve a big God that intimately cares about his people. He has a plan for our lives, and there is no need for us to worry about tomorrow or next summer or next year.
This week we are headed upcountry for the whole week to speak at a marriage conference, help out with a kids camp, speak at some student leadership seminars, and then we will be back in Buja. Pray for open hearts from the people coming, as well as words from the Spirit as we teach and lead them. Pray for health; a week of upcountry food combined with little to no sleep is dangerous territory! We can’t wait to see what God has in store!

Let us give him all our burdens today and learn to trust him more and more.

Leave a Reply

